How do I get out of read only in SOLIDWORKS?

In Tools > Options, on the General tab, select Open files read-only. When selected, this option also selects the Open as read-only option in the Open dialog box. Clearing the option in the Open dialog box does not affect the option in the Options dialog box.

How do I turn off read-only in SOLIDWORKS?

In SOLIDWORKS, select Tools, Options, and then System Options. Once there, select External References and make sure “Open referenced documents with read-only access” is unchecked.

Why is my SOLIDWORKS read-only?

The most common cause of this issue is a conflict between the way SOLIDWORKS handles multi-user environments and the way that SOLIDWORKS PDM does. SOLIDWORKS uses its built-in Collaboration features, which mark a file as read-only in the SOLIDWORKS System to prevent two users from modifying it at the same time.

What is a read-only file in SOLIDWORKS?

Checks if files have been made available for write access or have changed on disk since the last reload. To check files for a change in status: Search ‘Check Read-only Files’ in the SOLIDWORKS Knowledge Base. …

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you highlight text in Revit?

Can’t Save read-only files SOLIDWORKS?

Go to Tools > Options > System Options > External References and select Don’t prompt to save read-only referenced documents to avoid listing read-only referenced documents in this dialog box. Cancels saving the documents without closing them.

How do I change a read-only part in Solidworks?

Read/Write Status

To set the status for an assembly component: Right-click a component in the FeatureManager design tree or in the graphics area and select Make Read-Only or Get Write Access. You can also set read/write status in the Reload dialog box.

What is Toolbox in Solidworks?

SOLIDWORKS Toolbox is a library of fasteners and supplier standard components, fully integrated into SOLIDWORKS Professional and Premium. It provides easy access to your frequently used parts and the ability to customize to your companies standards.

How do I lock an assembly in SOLIDWORKS?

Locking and Breaking External References

  1. In the FeatureManager design tree: For an individual item, right-click the feature, component, body, or part. …
  2. Click External References. …
  3. To modify external references, select the external references and click Break Selected, Lock Selected, or Unlock Selected. …
  4. Click OK.

How do I get my SOLIDWORKS toolbar back?

To display SOLIDWORKS toolbars:

  1. Right-click in the window border and select or clear a toolbar name.
  2. Click Tools > Customize. On the Toolbars tab, select the toolbars to display.

How do you lock a SOLIDWORKS file?

To lock files in SOLIDWORKS and DraftSight: In the Collaborative Sharing pane, hover over the file image, click the down arrow , and select Lock.

How do I change the toolbox component in Solidworks?

To edit Toolbox components from the Configure Component PropertyManager:

  1. In the FeatureManager design tree, Shift + select the configurations to modify.
  2. Right-click and click Edit Toolbox component. …
  3. Modify component properties. …
  4. Click .
IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you change from landscape to portrait in AutoCAD?

How do I get write access in Solidworks?

Read/Write Status

Right-click a component in the FeatureManager design tree or in the graphics area and select Make Read-Only or Get Write Access.

How do you save a pack and go in Solidworks?

In SOLIDWORKS, click File > Pack and Go. In File Explorer or SOLIDWORKS Task Pane File Explorer, right-click a SOLIDWORKS document and click SOLIDWORKS > Pack and Go .

How do you collaborate in Solidworks?

To set collaboration options: Click Options on the Standard toolbar, or click Tools > Options. Select Collaboration. Click Reset to restore factory defaults for all system options or only for options on this page.

How do I share a Solidworks file?

To share a file, right-click and select Share. You can then edit settings for each shared file from the File Sharing tab in both the desktop and the Plenary web client interface. The Share command creates a special link to the files through the Plenary web client. You can copy, email, and password protect this link.